Of paths not traveled

I recently went to a friend’s birthday party.  She’s a friend from when I used to be a zookeeper (I haven’t been a zookeeper for more than 2 years now).  I don’t talk to her often, but I still enjoy hanging out when I can.  At this party were other people that I used to hang out with quite a bit when we worked together.  And then I quit.  And now I hardly see them at all.

It also got me thinking about how my life would be different had a stayed at that job.  I might have never met one of my best friends, whom I met in grad school.  I might have never met my boyfriend.  I might never have gone to some of the places I’ve been or experienced the things I have experienced since quitting that job.  On the other hand, maybe I missed out on other opportunities.  Maybe I would have made different friends, found a different boyfriend, gone to different places.  And now I’ll never know.

Of course, I can’t change any of that now.  And I’m completely okay with that.  It was the best decision I could have made at the time and I don’t for a moment regret the choice I made.

I do miss spending time with my old friends.  Our different lives and different schedules mean that there isn’t much time to get together.  It was much easier when I saw them every day.  But that is really the only thing about that job that I miss.  I knew at the birthday party that I was missing out on spending time with them.  I wasn’t as close to them as I used to be.  I wasn’t up on current events in their lives, I wasn’t privy to the inside jokes.

But that path is behind me, the door closed.  I continue on my current path, happy with a decision I made 2 and a half years ago when I was feeling down and out.  I’m happy with the path I did take.  I’m happy with my new career even though it wasn’t the career I had envisioned for myself when I was 5 or 6 and had decided that I would be a zookeeper.  I never thought I would be a teacher, but it’s quite possibly the best decision I could have made for myself.

I hope my friends understand.

About DaynaJD

I'm a high school science teacher who has a love of all things science, science fiction, fantasy, Disney and nerdy. View all posts by DaynaJD

2 responses to “Of paths not traveled

  • Lauren

    I love this. It’s interesting to think about where our choices have taken us, and how they could have been different. I’m glad you made the choice you did – I got an awesome best friend out of it (who also introduced me to my boyfriend). I often wonder if I’ve made the right career decision, but you know what – I like where it’s taken me. Thanks for this post! 😀

  • saradobiebauer

    Call it fate. Call it God. You’re where you are for a reason. And the people you’ve met along the way are lucky to have crossed your path 🙂

What you do think?

NeuroLogica Blog

DaynaJD's Blog

Paleocave Blog

Trust us, we're scientists

Brachiolope Media

The best podcasts in all of SCIENCE!

Sara Dobie Bauer

Author of BITE SOMEBODY and other ridiculous things

