Holy crap it’s spring break already

Time flies.  Spring semester began only a few days ago, right?  What?  It’s already been 9 weeks!  Where the hell did the first half of my semester go?!  I though this semester would be different.  I have a prep period this semester.  That means I have an extra 1.5 hours in my day that I can spend to plan out lessons, grade papers, be on top of work…

Right… Or I can use that time to go to meetings, make copies, email parents, talk with admin about new classes for next year.  And yes, grade some papers and plan some classes.  This is the first time I’ve had a prep period in a year and a half.  I thought it would mean more freedom, but instead, I find myself looking up at the clock and going “Shit, class starts in 5 minutes!  Where the hell did my 90 minutes go?”

How is it possible that I still have a stack of papers to grade every Sunday?  How is it possible that I still don’t have enough hours in my day to get everything done?  It’s over loading some times.

But the good news is that I’m almost done. 9 more weeks until graduation and summer vacation.  It’ll be 9 weeks of pushing students (especially seniors) to do their best, to study, and to keep showing up.  Summer isn’t here yet and they still have chemistry to do and wildlife to study and they can’t shut down yet.

And on the other side of that is motivating myself to stay on top of things.  It’s not summer yet for me either!  I need to stay focused, stay on task, and keep being the best teacher I can for these kiddos.

The break certainly helps.  Spring break is almost over, but I feel recharged and ready go.  Hopefully that thought will last until Monday.

About DaynaJD

I'm a high school science teacher who has a love of all things science, science fiction, fantasy, Disney and nerdy. View all posts by DaynaJD

One response to “Holy crap it’s spring break already

  • lmspenceley

    I still can’t believe that it is already almost April. 3rd quarter flew by – and it didn’t help that I was sick for the last 3 weeks of it. I am trying to stay positive and motivated too! Good luck!

What you do think?

NeuroLogica Blog

DaynaJD's Blog

Paleocave Blog

Trust us, we're scientists

Brachiolope Media

The best podcasts in all of SCIENCE!

Sara Dobie Bauer

Author of BITE SOMEBODY and other ridiculous things

